BKingFOTO

Exploring the natural and built environments through photography

The Best Camera

There’s a common expression that the best camera is the one that you have with you.  There’s even a book with the same name by Chase Jarvis with a collection of iPhone photographs.  Thanks to the proliferation of smart phones, most people always have a camera handy.  While I’m a huge advocate of DSLR’s for anyone serious about photography, sometimes it’s just not practical to carry a separate camera with you at all times.  For capturing the moment, a smart phone camera is sometimes a necessary tool.

Just because you need to use a smartphone camera to grab a picture shouldn’t limit you to the 1:1 aspect ratio and heavy filters courtesy of Instagram.  If you work within the limitations of these simple cameras and are able to give them a little care in post-processing, you can still capture some nice pictures.

On a recent outing to the local public library with my six year old daughter and three year old son, I elected to leave the DSLR home, as these two are a handful enough.  Once in the library however, there were some of those precious moments that I just had to try to capture and I had to resort to shooting with my iPhone.  Fortunately, the Boulder Public Library has good lighting with a lot of windows providing daylighting to the interior of the children’s area.

I recently started using Lightroom Mobile for IOS.  I haven’t been using it much for processing directly on my mobile device(s), but I do really enjoy having my mobile photographs sync automatically through the cloud to my desktop for processing.  I’m relatively pleased with what I was able to pull out of the snapshots from my smartphone.  This one of the two peeking through the stacks didn’t actually need much in the way of post processing:

IMG_1307

 

IMG_1299-2Another one of my favorites required quite a bit more work in Lightroom.  I really enjoyed this picture of the two of them sitting at a table flipping through some picture books, however the windows in the background left my subjects in severe shadow.

 

After quite a bit of tweaking, I finally settled on this processed version of the photo, which I at least find acceptable for sharing with friends and family.

IMG_1299

If you find yourself without a “real” camera, don’t despair, just take the shot with whatever you’ve got, and use some post-processing to salvage the photo!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2015 by in cameras, post-processing, processing and tagged .
